This is a preview of the new Deli charts - we are working on finalizing them by the end of 2013.

Go to the old Top 300 charts



New Gene Wildest Album Available for Streaming

Spectral Terrestrial is the forthcoming album from Gene Wildest, due out on August 28. Shapeshifting psych that coasts and then accelerates into extended jams, these songs marinate within a familiar concoction, before flipping the switch. The group's strength is in its ability to change dynamics, with a polished sheen. Gene Widest will be holding their record release celebration at Boot & Saddle on Thursday, August 30, supported by Spooky Forest and The Not Fur Longs.


Weekend Warrior, July 27 - 29

WXPN’s XPoNential Fest is back for its 25th year at the Camden Waterfront, merging nationally acclaimed acts and those emerging on the local forefront. And when those two concepts come to a head and someone from the neighborhood gains wide-ranging recognition, it’s a sweet spot for the community as a whole. Such is the case with grammy-award winners and Saturday evening headliners The War On Drugs. The long-time Deli faves have the ability to lyrically cut to the core, before soaring through the skies with their guitar-fueled jams. Also, earlier in the afternoon, fresh off Thursday’s performance at Ortlieb’s, the trio of Hurry offers a breezy, open songbook that is simultaneously melodic and self-reflecting. Much like “Hanging On” from their latest LP Every Little Thought suggests, once those soothing, earnest, power-pop ditties take hold, they’ll become something that one will consistently revisit. This Sunday, Sofia Verbilla, a.k.a. Harmony Woods, showcases a keen attention to detail in songwriting, shrinking the distance and thus increasing the impact in the process. And of course, you do not want to miss the legendary David Byrne (of the Talking Heads) kicking things off tonight at this year’s XPoNential Music Festival, presented by Subaru. – Michael Colavita

Other places to hit this summer weekend…

XPoNential Music Festival (Camden Waterfront) FRI Greg Sover Band, Swift Technique, SAT The War On Drugs, Hurry &More (Donn T & Chill Moody), Katie Frank, SUN Mt. Joy, Harmony Woods 

Johnny Brenda’s (1201 N. Frankford Ave.) SUN Cheap Dinosaurs

Boot & Saddle (1131 S. Broad St.) FRI Queen of Jeans, SAT Ill Doots (Record Release), Rover Rover, SUN Dark Thoughts

Kung Fu Necktie (1250 N. Front St.) FRI Green Meteor/DJSC, SAT Heavy Temple, Sonja/Fame Lust, SUN Narcos Family Band

PhilaMOCA (531 N. 12th St.) SAT NAH, Kilamanzego, Ada Babar, Kasra Kurt, SUN Hallucinogenic Bulb, Yeenar

Union Transfer (1026 Spring Garden St.) FRI Worriers

The Trocadero (1003 Arch St.) FRI JGriff & Lil Zip

TLA (334 South St.) SAT Warchyld

The Foundry (1000 Frankford Ave.) SAT DJ Lean Wit It, Swizzymack

Electric Factory (421 N. 7th St.)  FRI-SUN This Is Hardcore: FRI Please Die, SAT Year of the Knife, SUN Wisdom in Chains, Jesus Piece

World Café Live (3025 Walnut St.) FRI (Upstairs) DJ Rahsaan/(Downstairs) Osler Circle: Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Benefit 

The Fire (412 W. Girard Ave.) FRI The PLIBmen, SAT Tortuga, SUN Philly DJ Showcase

MilkBoy Philly (1100 Chestnut St.) FRI Long Miles, Stella Ruze, The Tisburys, SAT The Quixote Project

Ortlieb’s Lounge (847 N. 3rd St.) FRI Stealing From Thieves, Turnbull Green, SAT Goodnight/Goodluck, The Standing Cinema , Rally/Suburban Living (DJ Set)

The Barbary (951 Frankford Ave.) FRI Moonstriker, SUN The Mountain Chiefs, Countdown from Ten, Cellar Fox/Hypothetical

Bourbon & Branch (705 N. 2nd St.) FRI Who? What? When? Why? & Werewolves

Silk City (435 Spring Garden St.) SAT DJ Deejay, SUN The Whiskeyhickon Boys, Darlingtyn

Fergie’s (1214 Sansom St.) SUN Rusty Cadillac 

Connie’s Ric Rac (1132 S. 9th St.) FRI Sheena and Thee Nosebleeds, The Mojo Machine, Full Bush, Thee Minks

Voltage Lounge (421 N. 7th St.) SAT DJ Marco

Morgan’s Pier (221 N. Columbus Blvd.) FRI DJ Beatstreet, SUN Gypsy Wisdom

Frankie Bradley’s (1320 Chancellor St.) FRI DJ Chris Urban, SAT DJ Brian Toll

Century (1350 S. 29th St.) FRI Sniper Caprice, Hashgrinder, SAT Bear/moth

The Tusk (430 South St.) SAT A Ship Named Beagle, Overcoming Gravity

The Grape Room (105 Grape St.) FRI Cowbell Superstar, Naps Past Noon, Jac With No K, Brad + Nicole

Ardmore Music Hall (23 E. Lancaster Ave.) FRI Echoes: the American Pink Floyd, Brian Fitzy

Creep Records (1050 N. Hancock St.) FRI The Lot, Seeing Snakes, Bern & the Bastards, SAT  Burial Fog 

Everybody Hits (529 W. Girard Ave.) SAT Slingshot Dakota, Ramona, SUN Supine, Binary, Computer

The Pharmacy (1300 S. 18th St.) FRI Peyote Cathedral, Mirrorsigns

Planet Phitness (Please contact one of the acts or venue for more info.) SAT Woody

The Sound Hole (Please contact one of the acts or venue for more info.) SAT Pollen, Devil Master Zorn

Tundra Dome (Please contact one of the acts or venue for more info.) SUN Fleabite

Goo Lagoon (Please contact one of the acts or venue for more info.) FRI Beach Bod

New Track: "Red Light Green Light." - Kilamanzego

“Red Light Green Light.,” the new single from Kilamanzego, frenetically veers into new directions. It sets a dramatic scope, and then heads into a playful 8-bit, bass-bumping groove, inserting a twisted spin on Tierra Whack’s “Toe Jam”. Why try to pin it down when all its unexpected nuances are so masterfully brought together. Kilamanzego will be warping minds this Saturday, July28 at PhilaMOCA, alongside fellow experimental Philly sound sculptors NAH, Ada Babar, and Palm's Kasra Kurt, as part of the All Mutable Summer Jam. (Graphic by Eva Wo)

New Track: "Can I Receive the Contact?" - The Spirit Of The Beehive

“Can I Receive the Contact?” is the lead single from The Spirit Of The Beehive’s forthcoming album Hypnic Jerks, due out September 14 via Tiny Engines. Keys lift in an emerging manner, before the band’s raw, lo-fi, experimental energy takes hold. It feels like witnessing a dream-state that is part floating fantasy, before shifting with urgency as the song’s inquisitive title is continuously repeated. The band is set to go out on an October-long tour with Pile, and will be making a stop home on Wednesday, October 18 at the First Unitarian Church. (Photo by Emily Burtner)

New Greg Mendez Single Release Available for Streaming & Download

Philly singer-songwriter Greg Mendez just dropped a single release, containing a pair of new tracks. In “Purity (Walk On),” which was recorded for Adam Chimera's "One Take Box" video series, self-aware, haunting harmonies address those individuals who one associates with, but don’t have your best interests at heart. The song has a folky, lo-fi isolation that's caught in a pleasant sadness. Intermingling electronic percussion, bass, and keys to encompass a warm, minimalist groove, “Killer 57” seems like a retroactive, confessional apology, shining light on a memory in a nostalgic manner. Mendez is scheduled to appear at The Pharmacy on Friday, August 10, as part of a billing that also includes Sun Organ, No Better, and Lava Gulls.


- news for musician and music pros -