Artist of the Month
  • local channel
  • local charts
  • show listings
  • studios
  • submit
  • submit
top local artists
br spin
deli cover


Last year Baked came out with a tape called S/T Cassette.  Two songs short, it's enough to see where the band is coming from; they're not afraid to blur themselves, letting the sounds melt into landscape jams.  On Debt, their debut off Exploding in Sound, Baked is still melting, but it's a much more guided flow.  The album mixes high velocities with the turned down mellow feels that Baked just seems to ooze from every orifice.   R.J. Gordon's vocals take a back seat under a wash of reverb, sitting just below the pop driven melodies that surround him.  "Mick Jagger" especially is a stunner, where Yoni David's drumming drives the tune as the rest of the sounds float in zero gravity.  There's something unobtainably attractive about this band's sound, whether it's because they remind us of England's long lost Wu Lyf, or because they channel Bedhead at the same time. - Jake Saunders

The 60's
Bob Dylan

Simon and Garfunkel

Velvet Underground
The 70's
Patti Smith
The New York Dolls

The Ramones

The Talking Heads
Richard Hell
The Dead Boys
Lydia Lunch
The Contortions  
The 80's
Sonic Youth
Bad Brains
Beastie Boys
Bruce Springsteen
The Feelies
Laurie Anderson
They Might Be Giants
John Zorn
Arto Lindsay
Sonic Youth
The Fleshtones
The 90's

Jeff Buckley

The Magnetic Fields
Yo La Tengo
Soul Coughing
Cat Power
The 00's
The Strokes
TV on The Radio
Fiery Furnaces
Yeah Yeah Yeahs
The Bravery
Animal Collective
Bright Eyes
Devendra Banhart
Moldy Peaches
Le Tigre
Blonde Redhead
Grizzly Bear

Welcome to the new Deli Charts, organized by genre and scene.

To rank the artists with the star system go to the Top 50.


scene blog

Are you afraid of noise and guttural voices? If you are, don't even bother checking out this track by NYC sonic terrorists Sick Feeling, 'cause the guys have no mercy for delicate ears. Mixing post-hardcore and screamo with noise rock and math, the quintet offer concisely creative tunes that are true explosions of sounds. Those of you craving some good old tinnitus should check them out live - without earplugs - at Glasslands tomorrow (09.16).

September 15, 2014

It's been an eventful, life changing couple of weeks for that constantly naked pixie of the Brooklyn music scene that is Ejecta. First the project announced a change of name due to a cease or desist threat received from a DJ called "Ejeca" (presumably this Irish act) - by the way, not sure how this dude can have such a request considering the two names are in fact different... maybe in Ireland "t"s are silent? Then they released a new video for single "Silver" under... the 'old' name Ejecta (?!? - apparently because they haven't picked a new name yet - their fans are helping them out). But what's truly shocking in a bizarrely reversed way, is that in the video (Minute 1:08) we get to see for the first time lead singer Leanne Macomber WITH some clothes on!!! Although we've been conflicted about the band's promotional (but very tasteful) use of nudity, that is actually a genius move. The next step for the Dream Pop electro duo would be to finally show in photo or video the face and boy of Joel Ford, the second half of the project, that so far has been kept away from the cameras.

September 12, 2014

Beverly, one of our favorite new dream pop band from Brooklyn, just released this video for single "All the Things" - just in time to celebrate the end of the summer! Wow, Drew Citron really sounds like Kim Deal on this song - we dig! The trio must be doing well since they are playing both Music Hall of Williamsburg and Bowery Ballroom within 4 days (September 16 and 20 respectively).

September 12, 2014

It's always nice to find a young local band a few years after we first covered them and notice the progress. The Future of What is the electro-dream-pop project of trio Blair, Max and Sam. In the, eccellent remix of single "The Rainbowed Air" (streaming) angular drum machines and sweeping synths create an intriguing sonic backdrop for Sam's melodic vocals. Check out also the original track here.

September 12, 2014

This could not NOT make The Deli's NYC blog! Entirely shot in the Big Apple, the video of 'Guess Work' by Brooklyn (via Australia) Free Time, manages to find NYC's old character and poetry even in the streets and buildings of today's Manhattan. The song is included in the band's latest 7" released by Underwater Peoples - together with the more uptempo track 'Esoteric Tizz.' See Free Time live at Glasslands on 09.21 and at soon to be closing Death By Audio on 09.29

September 11, 2014

Started by singer-songwriter James Pollis (who is now backed by Eric Davis, Jon Wiley, and Ignacio Rivas Bixio), See Through is a synth pop/rock outfit with a truly expansive (but somewhat... transparent!) sound. Thus far, the project has released an album in February with singles “Forward Motion” (streaming) and “Chemical,” both comprehensive pieces with strong, technically sound instrumentals and neatly layered vocals. See Through is working on a new album. Catch them late tomorrow night at Baby’s All Right — it promises to be a powerful, high-energy show.

September 11, 2014


New Poll Coming Soon!

- news for musician and music industry peeps -